Alan Neyland Australasian Tunnelling Society Award for Excellence in Tunnelling (Tunnel Fire Safety)

In March 2011 Arnold was awarded the Alan Neyland Australasian Tunnelling Society bi-annual award for excellence in tunnelling (tunnel fire safety) and his contribution to fire safety in the world. This is the highest honour for tunnelling professionals in Australia.

NFPA -Distinguished Committee Service Award

In June 2022 Professor Dix was awarded a distinguished Committee Service Award by the National Fire Protection Association of the United States of America in recognition and appreciation of distinguished continuous voluntary  service to the NFPA in the development of NFPA codes and standards. This is considered the highest award achievable for committee members.